Chasing Waterfalls: Iguassu Falls

After a mammoth journey of a total of 24 hours from Paraty, I finally arrived in the town of Foz do Iguacu. This is a town which borders Argentina and Paraguay, and the main attraction here is the Iguassu Falls, one of the seven natural wonders of the world. Iguassu Falls is where the Brazil-Argentina border meet and can be seen from both sides.

So, despite the long journey I’d had, straight after checking into my hostel I went to catch the bus to see the main attraction, as it was such a lovely day and rain was due the following day. Being a natural wonder of the world, Iguassu Falls is located in a National Park. After paying the entrance fee (49.10 BRL), I caught the bus (it’s such a big park) to where all the waterfalls were. That’s right, it’s not just one waterfall, there are lots.

My first glimpse of the falls was just spectacular. It was amazing, like something I’d never seen before. Incredible.

On the Brazilian side there is a short walk to Garganta del Diablo- the devils throat. That’s the name of one of the most spectacular waterfalls you will see there. Along the walkway you do have risk of getting wet from the spray of the falls. That’s where having a waterproof camera comes in useful.

Walking around the park only took a few hours. After I’d seen all the falls, I went to the bird park which is close to the national park.

After a day of rest, I then crossed the border to Argentina to check out that side of the falls. Taking the train from the park entrance, I headed straight to Garganta del Diablo. I should mention now that I was told by fellow backpackers that the best way to see Iguassu Falls is to first go to the Brazilian side, then the Argentinian side. This was excellent advice. I was blown away by what I saw. The same thing as two days prior, but from a different side. It was absolutely amazing. And that was just the beginning of it.

In the national park on the Argentinian side there are three different walks you can and more waterfalls to see than on the Brazilian side. As well as the walk to Garganta del Diablo, there is the upper circuit and the lower circuit. On both of these walks, there are lots of different waterfalls to see, all from various angles. On the lower circuit, as with the Brazilian side, there is a risk of getting wet from the spray of the falls.

I think my favourite waterfalls were ‘Las dos hermanas’- the two sisters. This is because I have two sisters and it made me think of my sisters. There were a lot of other magnificent waterfalls to see too, all with different names.

While in the parks, both of them, I did notice an abundance of tourists all getting in the way. A lot of them were taking up a lot of space on the walkways, and that’s probably why it’s recommended to take roughly half a day exploring the Brazilian side, and a full day exploring the Argentinian side. Being on my own, I managed to manoeuvre my way around the Brazilian side within about an hour. And I managed to do all three walks on the Argentinian side in less than the six hours I’d been allowed (I was being picked up at a certain time). I spoke to a couple who’s had the same amount of time as me on the Argentinian side and they told me they only managed to do two of the walks. I guess some people take longer than others. I don’t particularly like large crowds, I just wanted to see the Falls and move on, so that’s how I managed it so quickly. I still had time to appreciate them too.

If you ever find yourself on the Brazil-Argentina border, go to Iguassu Falls, or just go anyway. It is definitely worth a visit, and if you’re pushed for time, the Argentinean side is the side to see!

Leave a Reply

