The Language of Media

I remember a few years ago when I lived in Spain and I went to the cinema to see High School Musical 2. As it was all in Spanish, I couldn’t understand everything that was going on. The way in which I managed to understand it all was through the songs, which hadn’t been recomposed and translated into Spanish. The reason for this is because it’s difficult to keep the meaning the same when translating songs. Shakira manages, and although with her songs some of the sentences are different, she still manages to keep the meaning.

This, I’ve discovered, is the same with TV and films. In Argentina (and in Spain and all the other Spanish-speaking countries, I presume), films like ‘Harry Potter’ are in Castillian (Spanish), whereas the likes of ‘Music and Lyrics’ are in English, with Spanish subtitles. There are even some adverts that are in English. I’m sure this makes some TV shows and films inaccessible to people who don’t speak English. But it is a good mix, and a good way to aid language learning.

When I lived in Spain, I never really got the chance to immerse myself in the language through watching TV. I’m hoping during my time in Buenos Aires I will be able to do this. It is a very useful way of learning the language, and if you watch the news, it’s a great way to keep up to date with current affairs too.

Leave a Reply

