Adrenaline Junkie seeks her thrills in South America

I mentioned in an earlier post (‘come fly with me…above the Nazca Lines’) that I’m a bit of an adrenaline junkie. I’m not sure when this started, but I think it was around the time I did my bungee jump in Australia (almost a year ago). So, no surprises that when I’m travelling again, I’m looking for thrills. Before I came to South America, a friend asked me if I was going to do any crazy stuff like bungee jumping, while I’m here. I told him no, as I wouldn’t be able to trust the safety standards they have here. It turns out that my thoughts on this are ‘well I have a really good travel insurance policy for a reason’.

I couldn’t say no to White Water Rafting in Cuzco, as everyone else in Peru group tour done it too, and obviously I didn’t want to be left out.
Image

Image

Then, after a quiet few weeks of no adventurous activity, I decided it would be a good idea to jump off a boat in Paraty and do some snorkelling.
ImageImage

When I arrived at Foz do Iguacu, home of the famous Iguassu Falls, I couldn’t help myself, and almost as soon as arriving in the park, I looked for the place that I’d heard you could go abseiling. I was pretty keen. It turned out though, that it wasn’t abseiling, it was, in fact, what’s known as Rappelling. The way I can describe it is that it’s almost like abseiling, but without the wall to walk your feet down. Basically, you’re just hanging by a rope. With professional instructors around to help and guide you though.
ImageImage

There were other exciting activities I could have done at Foz do Iguacu, such as High Ropes and a Climbing Wall, or White Water Rafting, but I’ve done all of those recently. Rappelling is amazing, I would recommend giving it a go. And I got some awesome views of the falls too!

Image

When I got to the Argentinean side, Puerto Iguazzu, again, I coudn’t help myself. In the park there, it was mainly boat trips you culd do, of varying lengths and at various points in the park. Obviously I chose the one where you get to go super fast under the falls, the one that last 10 minutes, but you get soaking wet it’s like you’ve been in the shower for an hour.
Image (I don’t know how to rotate it)
It was an amazing experience. The best way to see the falls, in my opinion.

So, now I’m in Buenos Aires, I wander what adrenaline-type activities are in store for me here. I’ll be blogging about that when it happens!

Leave a Reply

