Travel Insurance

Travel insurance is one of those things you kind of actually need, because you just never know when things go wrong. The age old saying ‘If you can’t afford travel insurance, you can’t afford to travel’ is something I have quoted in a previous post (https://karensdestinationunknown.wordpress.com/2014/07/10/the-hidden-costs-of-traveling/). Fact it may be, but travel insurance is mind boggling and if you’re not careful, you could end up with a policy that doesn’t cover you for things like travel delays.

I found this out the hard way. Remember my trip to South America 6 months when my flight ended up being delayed which caused me to miss my connection in CDG, which then meant I spent a very long 14 hours waiting around in airports (no less than 3 different airports), which meant I lost a grand total of 14 hours of my much anticipated, once-in-a-lifetime, dream-come-true trip (I am not exaggerating about all that). If you need a refresher, it’s here: https://karensdestinationunknown.wordpress.com/2014/03/30/the-true-meaning-of-destination-unknown/. It turned out, my travel insurance only covered me for lengthy delays from my DEPARTURE point (which was a pathetic 1 hour 30 minutes). Which meant I made a loss on everything, I’m still bitter about that.

Anyway, my point is, travel insurance can be useless at times, and it’s difficult to know what you actually need cover for. When researching different travel insurance for this next trip, I discovered that most travel insurance companies have the same rules about delayed departure, which to me utterly sucks because a delayed departure means you are prevented from travelling at the scheduled and agreed time of the airline (or whichever other mode of transport you’re using). You would think a 2 hour delay would be covered, but apparently not.

I have also learned that medical cover is essential, apparently. Depending on how healthy you are you may only be able to use certain travel insurance companies. I need cover for a pre-existing medical condition (asthma), and I discovered just before that as my inhaler has been changed recently, it could be problematic getting cover for this. So you just need to do research really.

I found this article very useful, and it explains things I didn’t understand before!
http://gapyearescape.com/gap-year-travel-insurance-guide/

Leave a Reply

